Roma and Rest

Greetings Readers-

June 4th:
Sorry for not posting anything yesterday but I was in Rome and by the time we got back I was dead tired. Today I will be posting all about my adventures for the last two days.

In Roma we walked the city and saw all the historical sights as a collective group. We loved watching all the people, as a cultural lesson ,since we are all anthropology majors.

 


Anthropology deals with human and cultural history. I love to watch people, wherever I go, and try to become one of the locals and not look like a tourist.Today I took that challenge and tried to assimilate into the culture. Greta, Emily and I were stopped by this lovely old lady who wanted to know why we were taking pictures of her quiet street, which offered nothing extraordinary. We explained that our teachers had gotten us lost and we were trying to find our way back to our meeting place. While waiting for everyone, I decided to sit on the grass and act casually when one of my friends thought Emily and I were one of the locals. Challenge completed!


I had a lovely day in Rome walking the city, enjoying the beautiful sights and watching all the people. A group of us sat at a nice little cafe and enjoyed each others company. I even bought a few things, which my parents have always encouraged me to do while visiting a foreign country-Thank you, Mom and Dad!  I realized how blessed I am to have this wonderful experience!

For dinner we ate at a restaurant that provided a 5 course meal. The food was delicious but there was so much of it. It was great to relax and recap the day with everyone on our train ride back to Viterbo. We told funny stories, which led me to a laughing attack, and I got to know my friend Emily better since we hung out the entire day together.

13322152_1225231647489833_3740617290675189188_n

June 5th:

Today was a day of rest which all of us desperately needed!! We all washed clothes, slept in late and finally got to explore the town of Viterbo. My roommates (Kelly and Emily) and I decided to hang out together and explored the city together. We bought fruit and enjoyed the beauty of this quaint little town. Somehow we have befriended a cat, who we have named toothless. This cat has a way of finding and following us. I will have to take a picture of him next time for my post. I am off to sleep in preparation for the week ahead. Until tomorrow-

13335670_1225232160823115_4858082966460035382_n

Goodnight friends,

Noelle

2 thoughts on “Roma and Rest

Leave a comment