Sprain and Pain

Hello Friends,

As you can tell from the title I got injured. I rolled my ankle doing tomb surveying and I am really mad because my ankle is swollen and hard for me to walk. Therefore, Dr. Baker pulled me from working the sites for a day or two to recover and I am really upset.  Kelly and I were going to explore some interesting tombs tomorrow and now I have to work on cleaning bones instead. 

Today was not my day. To begin with Kelly and I found no tombs in our sector which was very frustrating. Then my allergies acted up and I was sneezing all day- ugh! Also, as I began hiking the trail I crashed into a root and slammed up onto a rock- ouch! However, the real tragedy was that we got a new sector and as we began surveying the site I sprained my ankle. 😦

As Kelly and I began to walk the area we suddenly encountered wild boars who started chasing us through the brush! As we were running for our lives I jumped out of the boar’s way when I fell in the mud and tripped, spraining my ankle. Just kidding! I thought that would be a better story than me just tripping and spraining my ankle. It took me an hour and 15 minutes to limp back to the bus.

13413143_1230461406966857_107884779125635488_nShout out to my wonderful new friends who brought me dinner since I could not go out to eat!! Thank you!! They picked up a pizza and we all gathered together in my room talking and relaxing with my leg up to reduce the swelling. A friend of mine let me borrow her leg brace and with no ice in Italy it has been a challenge. I’m off to bed now to rest and hopefully the swelling will go down by the morning so I can go back to work.

Sweet dreams,
Noelle

Leave a comment