Work and Relaxation

June 11:

Hello Friends,

We worked this weekend to make up for our raining day😕. Don’t get me wrong, I love doing tomb survey but it’s the weekend.  I would have loved to sleep in and rest from all the work we did this week, but no such luck. Looking on the bright side I did cover at least half the sector doing tomb surveying again. In one of the tombs it seemed to be a two room tomb which still had nails  embedded in the wall of the tomb- like a coat hook. These nails are square which usually indicates that they were man made. They were so cool looking and rusted. This was an amazing tomb!!


The day pretty much consisted of me crawling into tombs that were either covered or hard to get into. I made up a song to keep my mind off of what I was going into and to stay focused.  It went like this; “Into the tomb she goes… as she wiggles in…wiggle, wiggle, wiggle… and she wiggled in.” The song to leave the tomb went like this; “Away from the tomb she goes…and she wiggled away…wiggle, wiggle, wiggle…and she wiggled away.” Once I’m half way out of the tomb I tend to army crawl the rest of the way out of the tomb. Needless to say my body hurts! I’ve had to do many weird angles to get out of tombs and I usually enter the tombs feet first and exit head first. It is insane but really fun! It’s like playing the game twister, in that your body is in all types of weird positions, but you are playing by yourself in empty tombs. You gotta love it!

After dinner my friends and I walked outside the walls to explore the city.

13394098_1228988203780844_5792747705245070355_n
June 12:

Hello Readers,

Sleep…eat…sleep…wash clothes…sleep! It was what I and every other anthropology student needed. Rest! Rest! It seems that this has become the weekly Sunday ritual for relaxation and preparing for the week.
We did try a new place for dinner, a street food restaurant, that was actually pretty good. After dinner we all went to get gelato’s- yum!

Well it is about 10:45 pm and I have to wake up early for another week in the field, since I am surveying tombs, and that requires more than the usual 7 mile daily hike!

13419110_1228987880447543_4269526466785630137_n
Night,

The Tomb Explorer-

Leave a comment